bannersHon
  EN | FR | DE | CN |
img
Über uns
img PATIENT / PRIVATPERSON img FACHLEUTE IM BEREICH DER MEDIZIN img WEBSEITENHERAUSGEBER img
img
 
img
   

img
img
img
Über uns
 Auftrag & Benutzer 
 Über uns 
 Qualitätsmanagementsystem 
 NGO status 
 Auszeichnungen &
   Anerkennung
 
 HON History  
img
Research &
Development
 In progress 
 Completed 
    International
       WRAPIN
       Active Health
       Google Co-op
       PIPS
       Joslin Dubai
    National
       MARVIN
       Hunt Services
    Regional
    Project for
       developing countries
       RUIG
       RAFT
    Internal
       HONcode
       HONselect
       Orphanet.ch
 HON Publikationen 
img
HON's regional
representations
 French-speaking Africa 
 English-speaking Africa 
 Spanish-speaking countries 
img
 Medien-Ecke 
 Collaborations 
 HON helfen und Sponsoren 
 Stellenangebote  
 Copyright 
 Kontakte 
 
HONselect: Eine intelligente mehrsprachige Suchmaschine,
die eine Sammlung an verschiedenen Internetquellen bietet 
HONselect ist eine neue Meta-Suchmaschine die eine umfangreiche Sammlung an medizinischen Begriffen und dazugehörigen Bildern, Bibliographien, Nachrichten und Webseiten bietet [1, 2, 3]. Nach unserem Wissensstand gibt es keine andere Suchmaschine, die so innovativ, benutzerfreundlich und zeitsparend ist. Die 33.000 medizinischen Suchbegriffe (MeSH - Medical Subject Heading), die von der National Library of Medicine entwickelt wurden, können auf Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Spanisch oder Portugiesisch eingegeben werden. Diese Mehrsprachigkeit und andere einzigartige Funktionalitäten machen den MeSH Thesaurus zu einer leistungsstarken Suchmaschine [4, 5, 6]. Der Internetbenutzer kann nach medizinischen Begriffen mit deren Definitionen suchen. Außerdem sind in der Suchmaschine vier verschiedene Datenbanken integriert. Dazu gehören MEDLINE [7]- zur Suche nach Bibliographien und Quellen zu einem bestimmten Begriff mit der Möglichkeit die Suche um Kriterien wie "Therapie", "Ätiologie", "Prognose" oder "Diagnose" zu erweitern; außerdem gibt es zum Beispiel die Funktion "Präzision" für Ärzte und Medizinstudenten [4]; HONmedia - HONs eigene Sammlung an Links zu 6800 medizinischen Bildern über 1700 verschiedene Themen, die nach der MeSH Nomenklatur geordnet sind [8]; NewsPage - für täglich aktualisierte medizinische Nachrichten [9], ünd MedHunt [10], die Volltext-Suchmaschine der Stiftung Health On the Net (HON) [11] die von dem HON-Roboter, MARVIN, betrieben wird. Die Datenbank von HONselect beinhaltet außerdem Seiten, die von HON überprüft wurden, und solche die die HONcode Zertifizierung erhalten haben [12].
 
Die HONselect Suchfunktion erkennt automatisch Rechtschreibfehler in drei Sprachen. Die Ergebnisliste und relevante Webseiten werden in der jeweiligen Sprache angezeigt. Mit der Übersetzungsfunktion kann man leicht von einer Sprache zu einer anderen wechseln und so zusätzliche oder ergänzende Informationen, sowie eine Liste der Begriffe in einer der zwei anderen Sprachen erhalten. MedHunt kann außerdem die Suche auf französische oder englische Webseiten beschränken und wird derzeit auch auf Deutsch entwickelt.
 
Durch den hierarchischen Aufbau von HONselect können sich Laien weiter bilden. So ergibt eine Suche nach "Diabetes": "Diabetes Insipidus", "Diabetes Inspidus Neurogen", "Diabetes Insipidus Nephrogen", "Diabetes Mellitus", "Diabetes Mellitus Insulin abhängig", "Diabetes Mellitus nicht Insulin abhängig", "Diabetes Mellitus Lipoatrophie", "Diabetes Mellitus Experimentell", "Diabetes und Schwangerschaft", "Übergewicht und Diabetes", "Renale Glukosurie", "Hypophosphatemia Familial". Der Benutzer kann dann den gewünschten Begriff auswählen und seine Suche genauer definieren.
 
Diese benutzerfreundliche Anwendung ist im Internet kostenlos erhältlich und kombiniert leistungsstarke Suchfunktionen und ein umfangreiches Angebot an medizinischer Information. HONselect ist für Patienten, Ärzte und Studenten gleichermaßen nützlich.

Referenzen:

[1] HONselect auf Englisch http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/
[2] HONselect auf Französisch http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/index_f.html
[3] HONselect auf Deutsch http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/index_d.html
[4] HONselect Sammlung an Quellen über "Diabetes Mellitus" auf Englisch http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect?browse+C18.452.297
[5] HONselect Sammlung an Quellen über "Diabetes Mellitus" auf Französisch http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect_f?browse+C18.452.297
[6] HONselect Sammlung an Quellen über "Diabetes Mellitus" auf Deutsch http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect_de?browse+C18.452.297
[7] MEDLINE http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/freemedl.html
[8] HONmedia http://www.hon.ch/HONmedia/
[9] NEWSPage http://www.individual.com/
[10] MedHunt http://www.hon.ch/MedHunt/
[11] HON http://www.hon.ch/
[12] HONcode http://www.hon.ch/HONcode/

Home img Über uns img Presseecke img HON newsletter img Site map img Ethische Prinzipien img Kontakt

bannersHon
  EN | FR | DE | CN |
img
About HON
img PATIENT / INDIVIDUAL img MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL img WEB PUBLISHER img
img
 
img
   

img
img
img
About the
organization
 Mission & users 
 Who we are 
 Accredited by HAS 
 NGO status 
 Awards & Recognition 
 HON History  
img
Research &
Development
 In progress 
 Completed 
    European
       WRAPIN
       Active Health
       PIPS
    International
       Google Co-op
       Joslin Dubai
       iphone HealthPedia
    National
       MARVIN
       Hunt Services
    Internal
       HONcode
       HONselect
       Orphanet.ch
       Quality Detector
    Project for
       developing countries
       RUIG
       RAFT
 Publications 
img
International
collaboration
 French-speaking Africa 
 English-speaking Africa 
 Spanish-speaking
   countries
 
 Arabic-speaking countries 
img
 Media Corner 
 Collaborations 
 Helping HON and Funding 
 Jobs offers  
 Ethical policy 
 Contacts 
 
HONselect: A multilingual and Intelligent Search Tool
Integrating Heterogeneous Web resources
HONselect is a new meta-search engine offering a comprehensive collection of medical terms and corresponding pictures, bibliographic references, news and Web sites [1, 2, 3]. To the author's knowledge, no other search engine offers this level of innovation, ease of use and time-saving functionality. The 33,000 MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) terms - developed by the National Library of Medicine - that are at its core can be searched or navigated in English, French, German, Spanish or Portuguese. This multilingual capability, along with other unique features transforms the MeSH thesaurus into a powerful research tool [4, 5, 6]. Not only does it allow the user to search and navigate the hierarchy of medical terms and their definitions, it also integrates four separate databases. These are MEDLINE [7]- for bibliographic references corresponding to the term, with the possibility of refining the results further using criteria such as "therapy", "etiology", "prognosis", and "diagnosis", as well as "recall" or "precision" (these are intended for doctors and medical students) [4]; HONmedia, HON's own collection of links to 6,800 medical images, on 1,700 different topics, and classified according to MeSH nomenclature [8]; NewsPage, for daily medical news [9], and MedHunt [10], the full-text search engine developed by Health On the Net Foundation (HON) [11] and powered by the HON's proprietary robot MARVIN. HONselect's database also contains sites that have been reviewed by HON, as well as those adhering to HON's Code of Conduct for medical a health Web sites (HONcode) [12].
 
The HONselect search function checks automatically for spelling errors in three languages. The hierarchy resulting from a search is displayed in the language that the term was searched in, as are relevant Web sites. Using the 'translate' function, one can easily switch from one language to another so as to obtain additional and complementary information as well as the list of terms in one of the other two languages. MedHunt is also capable of narrowing a search down to Web sites in either French or English, and is currently also being updated to function in German.
 
HONselect's hierarchical organization offers educational opportunities for the layperson. A search for "diabetes", for instance, will yield: "Diabetes Insipidus", "Diabetes Insipidus Neurogenic", "Diabetes Insipidus Nephrogenic", "Diabetes Mellitus", "Diabetes Mellitus Insulin-Dependent", "Diabetes Mellitus Non-Insulin-Dependent", "Diabetes Mellitus Lipoatrophic", "Diabetes Mellitus Experimental", "Diabetes Gestational", "Pregnancy in Diabetes", "Obesity in Diabetes", "Glycosuria Renal", "Hypophosphatemia Familial". The user may then select the term of interest and refine his or her search.
 
This tool, available for free on the Web, combines powerful search capabilities and a vast, rich array of medical information with an intuitive interface. As such, it can be used by patient, doctor and student alike.

References:

[1] HONselect in English http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/
[2] HONselect in French http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/index_f.html
[3] HONselect in German http://www.hon.ch/HONselect/index_d.html
[4] HONselect's collection of resources for "Diabetes Mellitus" http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect?browse+C18.452.297
[5] HONselect's collection of resources for "Diabetes Mellitus" in French http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect_f?browse+C18.452.297
[6] HONselect's collection of resources for "Diabetes Mellitus" in German http://www.hon.ch/cgi-bin/HONselect_de?browse+C18.452.297
[7] MEDLINE http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/freemedl.html
[8] HONmedia http://www.hon.ch/HONmedia/
[9] NEWSPage http://www.individual.com/
[10] MedHunt http://www.hon.ch/MedHunt/
[11] HON http://www.hon.ch/
[12] HONcode http://www.hon.ch/HONcode/


Home img About us img MediaCorner img HON newsletter img Site map img Ethical policies img Contact